Leadership Team

A Letter from Dr. Powell

November 2019

More About Dr. Powell


As Saint John’s Catholic Prep enters its fifth year at the new Buckeystown, MD campus, these five pillars represent a renewed dedication to educating in a joyful Catholic community.

In August 2016 Dr. Thomas H. Powell was selected as the new President of Saint John’s Catholic Prep. Dr. Powell recently retired as President of Mount Saint Mary’s University where he served in that role for the past 12 years.

In June 2003, Dr. Thomas H. Powell became the 24th President of Mount St. Mary’s University, America’s second oldest Catholic university. Under his leadership, the University completed its Bicentennial celebration, with extensive events to mark this historic occasion. During his tenure, President Powell initiated a strategic plan, A Community Growing Together (2006-2012) to guide the development of the university as it begins its third century of service to God and our nation. Recently, the campus completed its first new residence hall in 30 years, built a new soccer and lacrosse stadium (Waldron Family Stadium) a new baseball field (Straw Family Stadium), a Founder’s plaza and a peace plaza. Dr. Powell led significant improvements in student life and the development of new academic majors.

Before coming to the Mount, Dr. Powell was the president of Glenville State College in Glenville, West Virginia. While at Glenville, Dr. Powell was credited with completing a major campus renovation program, revitalizing the college’s Foundation, developing its first annual fund program, increasing the endowment, and initiating a program titled “A Renaissance of Shared Values” to focus attention on the key virtues of academic integrity.

From 1994-1999, Dr. Powell was Dean of the College of Education at Winthrop University in Rock Hill, South Carolina. From 1989-1994, Dr. Powell was the Dean of the College of Education and Human Services at Montana State University- Billings.

From 1982 – 1989, Dr. Powell was a Professor of Special Education at the University of Connecticut and the first director of UConn’s Program of Excellence on Disabilities.

He received his Bachelor of Science in Special Education from Montana State University-Billings, Billings, Montana in 1976; his Masters of Science in Special Education from Montana State University-Billings, Billings, Montana, in 1979; and his Ed.D. in Special Education — from Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee, in 1981. His academic concentrations included teacher education, family intervention, severe disabilities and educational technology. His research focused on social interaction between children with disabilities and their siblings.

Dr. Powell has written four books, notably, Brothers and Sisters: A Special Part of Exceptional Families (now in third edition). He has authored numerous book chapters and journal articles and has been an assistant/associate editor for many professional publications.

He is a frequent keynote speaker at professional conferences and has made keynote addresses and invited speeches in 46 states. Dr. Powell is the founding director of the University of Connecticut Program for Disabilities. In 2011, Dr. Powell was inducted as a Knight of Order of St. Gregory the Great, a Papal Honor from Pope Benedict XVI bestowed by His Emminencey, Edwin Cardinal O’Brien, the Archbishop of Baltimore. In 2015 Pope Francis awarded him the Pro Ecclesia et Pontifice distinction, bestowed by Archbishop William Lori.

Dr. Powell has been married to Irene for 46 years. They have seven children, Nicholas, Thomas Henry, Cathleen, Anjelina, Nicodemus, Maria and Johnny and three granddaughters, Deta, Imelda and Morgan.


Mr. James Plamondon

Mr. James Plamondon

Co-President - The Plamondon Companies
Mr. Patrick Crowley

Mr. Patrick Crowley

First Vice Chairman
Vice President - The Crowley Company
Dr. Richard Rogers

Dr. Richard Rogers

Second Vice Chairman
Owner/Dentist - Yellow Springs Dental
Mr. Robert Baker

Mr. Robert Baker

Owner - Baker Business Consult


Mr. William Ballantyne

Mr. William Ballantyne

Vice President of Operations - Best Plumbing Specialties
Rev. J. Kevin Farmer

Rev. J. Kevin Farmer

Pastor - St. John the Evangelist Catholic Church
Mrs. Lisa Hickman

Mrs. Lisa Hickman

Class of '74
Senior Director, Finance - SAP National Security Services (NS2)
Mrs. Elizabeth Kinley

Mrs. Elizabeth Kinley

R.N., B.S.N., Clinical Quality Manager - Frederick Memorial Hospital
Mr. Thomas Kleinhanzl

Mr. Thomas Kleinhanzl

President/CEO - Frederick Memorial Healthcare System, Inc.
Mr. Michael O’Connor

Mr. Michael O’Connor

Class of '84
Mayor - The City of Frederick
Dr. P. Gregory Rausch, FACP

Dr. P. Gregory Rausch, FACP

Retired - Physician, Medical Oncology
Mrs. Kris Shanley

Mrs. Kris Shanley

Special Education Teacher - Loudoun County Public Schools

Mr. Mark Stitz

Owner/President - Frost Fire Insulation, Inc.

Board of Trustees Meetings

President's Cabinet

Ms. Kathy Crosby

Executive Assistant

Mrs. Laurie Orlowski

Chief Financial Officer, Director of HR

Mrs. Nancy Fay

Director of Advancement

Mrs. Kelly Weeks

Director of Enrollment Management

Mr. Will Knotek


Mr. Daryl Hayes

Assistant Principal for Student Affairs, Assistant Director of Athletics, Football - Head Coach

Mrs. Jill Seaman

Assistant Principal for Academic Affairs, Teacher - English

Mr. Pete Strickland

Director of Athletics

Mrs. Amy Foss

Director of Facilities